Come See: Life of Galileo

Dalton and I started watching the Cosmos reboot this past spring. The show’s production value is fantastic and the imagery used to describe complex scientific concepts makes it extremely accessible. That, coupled with Neil DeGrasse Tyson’s soothing baritone and friendly demeanor make it one of my favorite shows.

But, the parts that I enjoy most are the little history lessons. Bertolt Brecht’s Life of Galileo is like an extended version of one of these Cosmos history lessons.

So when Davey Morrison Dillard, a Grassroots Shakespeare veteran I met this summer, asked if I would participate in a production of it that he was putting on, I immediately said yes!

The first thing that struck me when I read through the play was how relevant it is to the current attitude in the United States towards science and intellectualism. The story itself is pretty interesting and unfolds  with a kind of natural emotional detachment (I highly recommend watching this video about Brechtian theater which talks  a little about the tactic of alienation for more info).

Somehow though, in spite of the serious subject matter, it’s such a fun play. Brecht had quite a sense of humor and this show has a lot of great musical interludes. I also might add, that it has a really REALLY talented cast. Also, the space! Oh, the space! We’re performing in the upper room of the Castle Amphitheater in Provo and it looks SO GOOD!!!

armillary sphere prop
Plus, check out this really cool armillary sphere prop I made for it. Shut up, it is so amazeballz :)

This show has truly been a labor of love for everyone involved. Don’t go to see it because I’m in it (I have a lot of small – yet awesome – parts), go and see it because it’s going to be a fantastic show.

Don’t wait to get tickets! We’re only running for 5 shows:

Performances: Sept 19 – 20, 22, 26 – 27 @ 7:30 pm
Tickets: $10 (Buy Here or at the door)
Location: Castle Amphitheater, 1300 E. Center Street, Provo, UT 84606

– OR –

Just check out the Facebook invite!

 

3 thoughts on “Come See: Life of Galileo

Leave a Reply

