My online dating archives (part 1)

Oh man, I came across some of the best shit this weekend while I was looking for some fodder for a web series I’ve been writing.

I remembered that during my last round of online dating I took some screenshots of some of the more interesting interactions I’d had and MAN I forgot how hilarious some of these were.

Before going into the whole online dating thing I made a few rules and principles for my interactions. My first rule was to respond to everyone who reached out to me. After all, it’s hard to put yourself out there, but in retrospect this was actually a huge mistake. I’ll explain more on that in another post I’m sure.

I also wasn’t going to let myself get pushed around or manipulated (something that happened to me a lot dating in my early 20s). I wasn’t going to feel bad about setting boundaries and saying no thank you if we didn’t mesh.

I also write a damned good profile if I say so myself. There are a few things I know I need out of a relationship based on past experience that I clearly state. I try to mention a wide array of my interests to increase the chances that we have something to talk about. AND…and I feel like this is important: I don’t put up my favorite pictures of myself. I put up the ones that I feel look like me on a normal day. I was very clear about wanting a relationship and not just sex.

And I did meet up with a few nice people and have some good conversations, but the bad shit….the really bad shit needed to be screen-shotted and documented for posterity. Obviously, I didn’t know what I’d do with it when I saved it or I would have done something with it by now.

…but better late than never!

This first guy hit me up before I had my profile actually written up or any pictures though. The only information I did have was the basics: religious affiliation, age range I’m looking for, non-smoking…that kind of thing.

2012-05-11 OkCupid Convo

If there is one thing I am grateful for, it’s that I’m dating such a stand up guy now. Dalton, if you’re reading this, I love you and you’re wonderful. Not even just compared to other people.

Like, you are stand-alone, unprecedented great.

Leave a Reply

